Skip to content

my 365 project.

November 9, 2008

3013768601_4ec7d96684

Tomorrow (or, rather, in five minutes, “today”) I will make the five-hour drive to Corporate Headquarters (may it not be as scary as it sounds) for a week of training which commences my new job as a photographer for a portrait studio. In synchronicity with this major change in my life, and in order to challenge myself as an artist and as a person, I have decided to start a ‘365 project’– fairly common in the flickr/photographer world. In essence, I will take a self-portrait every day for the next year. The creative growth potential is evident. I will have the same subject to photograph over and over, and yet I must push the envelope somehow, and not turn out a few hundred pixelated Photobooth shots of me on the couch. I think it will also help me grow as a portrait Photographer. In order to make people feel comfortable from behind the lens, I have to learn to be comfortable in front of it. Every. Day. Also, from a purely personal level, I think it will help me be more accepting of myself, and my appearance. I can’t take days off for weird hair, no make-up, or low morale. So, I will have to enjoy the composition that is my miraculous human form daily, regardless of the small inconsistencies.

I got off to a sporadic start, so I guess we will have to “really” start the 365 project yesterday. But, here is today’s photo above, and the project can be followed via my Flickr account.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

