Skip to content

something that makes me really, really happy.

October 19, 2008

If you know me, you know that I have a flair for things that are “loud,” opulent, overdone to the point of garishness at times.  I wear too much jewelry, too many colors, don’t usually match, and crave intricate designs and busy patterns.  It’s a bit of a genetic hangover from my great-grandmother, who wore a ring on every finger and jangling bracelets every day.

That said, I also love anything vintage, antique, historical.  I am nostalgic for times in which I never even lived.  These forces combined have unleashed what can only be described as an obsession with all things Damask, Toile, and Rococo.  Feast your eyes:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Charles permalink
    October 19, 2008 11:06 pm

    Given that you’re a fellow Anglophile you’re probably familiar with author, artist, designer William Morris, one of the associates of the Pre-Raphaelites, but just in case here’s a link to some of his opulent wall paper designs. (And other nest stuff.)

    http://www1.walthamforest.gov.uk/wmg/

  2. A-man-duh permalink
    October 20, 2008 12:54 pm

    I agree…I think you would really approve of my color rich apartment…full of antiques!

    I would kill for that purple wallpaper with the blue farm animals printed on it!

  3. Violet permalink
    May 11, 2010 9:07 pm

    Given that you’re “obsessed” with all things damask I was hoping you could point me in the right direction. My husband and I are working on renovating our home theater/bar and wanted to add a dramatic flair via damask (dark red/black) felt wall paper. I’ve had a very difficult time finding where to purchase it.

    Would you be able to provide me with some tips on where to look?

    thanks
    -Violet
    v_viadero@yahoo.com

    • greeneyedmuse permalink*
      May 16, 2010 2:59 am

      Sorry– not a clue as to where to purchase damask wallpaper.

Leave a Reply

