Skip to content

a new hobby!

August 6, 2008


Aha! I have discovered that at my favorite antique store (just around the corner), you can purchase a three-dollar jar of broken/misfit/mismatched/damaged jewelry bits & pieces. So, that is exactly what I did a few days back. And, with the help of wire cutters, pliers, and a soldering iron (Mark had a brief phase of circuit-bending for fun), I am making the old newly designed! The fun of the jar is that it is such a crap-shoot (or as Mark says, “like a pack of baseball cards–you never know if you are going to get treasure or trash”)!! I’m having fun, I’ll post my creations as they come along!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. A-man-duh permalink
    August 6, 2008 7:01 pm

    or ppppppossibly like a “box of chocolates…you never know what you’re gonna get”

    sorry

    couldn’t resist that one 🙂

  2. August 6, 2008 8:31 pm

    we did something very similar to that in my jewelry classes in a seminar-type-thing called “Radical Jewelry Makeover” :

    http://radicaljewelrymakeover.blogspot.com/

    http://www.ethicalmetalsmiths.org/

    I’m excited that you’re into that, too. 🙂

  3. greeneyedmuse permalink*
    August 6, 2008 11:54 pm

    Thanks, guys.
    The websites are awesome (considering I’m no metal-smith, and am blundering through this as per usual).
    It’s fun though!!

Leave a Reply

