Skip to content

“for a week maybe two, just until my skin turns brown, then I’m coming home. . .”

July 25, 2008

I just (consciously, romantically) tossed some sundresses into a thrifted 1970’s green suitcase. I’m leaving to drive down to Wilmington tomorrow, to spend several days by the ocean, and in the company of family. (At least I predict that) I graduated college today, at about 3:50pm, by dropping a manuscript into a cardboard box. My initial elation faded after (another) failed attempt to find a suitable apartment in Richmond.

More important than the sundresses, or the tiny, ugly apartment, is the scrambling of my reading list. I gave up on Sophie’s World. It didn’t grab me by page 150; the similar plot-line in rotation was tedious, and not very sophisticated. I should have read it younger, in other words, or in lieu of Philosophy101. Instead, I found myself cracking open Flannery O’Connor’s collected works, which I bought a while ago out of a mingled sense of obligation and curiosity, and found myself reading last week, as though it might provide me with teflon understanding before I reenter the homeland. I read around in stories and essays, and slipped it back onto the shelf for now. I can’t seem to focus my attention on any one book at the moment (it is a terrible feeling–like being hungry and not knowing what you want to eat, amplified). So, I sat down in front of my kitchen bookshelf and plucked these two from the shelves to take home with me (one is new to me altogether, and the other is possibly my favorite work of all time):

All of which reminds me of a talk that I saw on Ted.com by Barry Schwartz that I cannot get out of my mind, about the Absolute Truth that too many choices make people unhappy. (Yet another benefit to the economic downsizing of America– moderation begets wellness.)

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. A-man-duh permalink
    July 25, 2008 6:59 pm

    when will you be home? I shall have to say goodbye to you this week

  2. July 26, 2008 3:12 pm

    Congratulations on graduating. 🙂

  3. July 30, 2008 10:36 pm

    Sophie’s World is one of those books that is super long and a bit dull at times, but in the end I think it’s worth it… it really twists around in the end and is definitely not what you expect!

Leave a Reply

