Skip to content

pardon me, while i lay down a few half-baked thoughts. . .

May 18, 2008

I’ve been thinking a lot about things that seem to have no corrolation with one another:

1. metronomes. and pianos, more generally. and the idea of ‘keeping time.’

2. baby names (okay, so i think about those a lot, all the time, and my recent trip home furnished family histories for rummaging through, so they are even MORE on the brain. Relax, everyone. The actual kid(s) are a decade away, by my estimations.) But what say you to Lenox, Iradell, Carolyn, Isabel, Grayson, Gilbert, Gabriel, Giles, Capki (Catherine) . . .

3. pendulums. specifically, the moment that the pendulum reaches the length of its swing, and changes direction to come back down. . . I feel like I am at such a throat-catching moment of suspension. I am waiting for things to swing back, circle round, ebb and flow– in my life, in my country, everywhere.

4. retail therapy: which has taken the form of fantastic dishes that i paid nothing for at Goodwill: the plates and bowls are avant-garde black octagons, and the glasses are chased in heinous/lovely early sixties white and raw sienna flowers. . . Also, I splurged on my favorite cheap creative “things”—> fabric scraps and buttons!

AND, more exciting, even, is the Diana camera I found for only 50 bucks! Hopefully, I can churn out some 120’s that look like these:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. A-man-duh permalink
    May 18, 2008 6:15 pm

    funny, once again we’re channeling each other. I just went to a yard sale and bought a baby name book because I too am obsessed with baby names and the meaning of a name. Of course, this resulted in a kind old woman asking me all sorts of questions about “my pregnancy”….which I just answered because the truth is too weird sounding.

    I like all of those names…and you didn’t steal my future baby name which I am trying to keep on the DL till I get to use it 😉

    welcome home and I promise that your pendulum will find its course 🙂

    see you next weekend

  2. May 19, 2008 6:22 pm

    diana’s are similar to holgas and holgas ROCK! i have 2 and i love them!

    looking forward to some awesome photos!

  3. May 20, 2008 7:28 pm

    hi again…
    i tagged you on my blog if you feel like playing…

    if not, no worries!

Leave a Reply

