Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day!

May 12, 2008

I love you, Momma. And I send love to mothers everywhere. I’ll let Alela Diane sing it better than I can say it:

(Oh my Mama
She gave me these feathered breaths
Oh my Mama
She told me use your voice,
My little bird

She said sing sing sing sing sing sing melodies
And she sang sang sang sang sang sang melodies

Oh my Mama
She did give me fancy feet
I’ll be dancing on
And I’ll tap tap tap my toes
Into those creaking floorboards

Oh my Mama
She took my little hand and held on tight
Oh the Mamas
Give the waters of their wells
Oh the Mamas
Give the babies this very dirt we’re walking on
Oh my Mama
She gave me these feathered breaths
And your Mama
She gave you those feathered breaths too

And when the sky drops all those feathers
And when the birds sing in the morning
I’ll be a mama
I’ll have a daughter
I’ll be a mama
I’ll have a daughter

And I’ll give her melodies
I’ll give her melodies
(repeat)

And she’ll be
My little bird
And then she’ll fly
She’ll fly )

my own momma and me:

my grandmother’s note to her mother from the early 1920’s:

and Post Secret has some beautiful, heart-wrenching and raw mother’s day posts, including this one:


“Morning Song”
by Sylvia Plath

Love set you going like a fat gold watch.
The midwife slapped your footsoles, and your bald cry
Took its place among the elements.
Our voices echo, magnifying your arrival. New statue.
In a drafty museum, your nakedness
Shadows our safety. We stand round blankly as walls.
I’m no more your mother
Than the cloud that distills a mirror to reflect its own slow
Effacement at the wind’s hand.
All night your moth-breath
Flickers among the flat pink roses. I wake to listen:
A far sea moves in my ear.
One cry, and I stumble from bed, cow-heavy and floral
In my Victorian nightgown.
Your mouth opens clean as a cat’s. The window square
Whitens and swallows its dull stars. And now you try
Your handful of notes;
The clear vowels rise like balloons.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Momma permalink
    May 12, 2008 3:54 pm

    Sweetheart,
    Thanks for the Mother’s day sentiments and song. I really like the Post Secret site, too. How very touching and heart-wrenching to visually witness that so many of us have the same difficulty expressing our deepest feelings to those we love the absolute most in all the world. I love you, and I cannot wait to hold you in a tight hug tonight. You have made the past 21 Mother’s Days so precious.
    Momma

Leave a Reply

