Skip to content

Not to use a drug metaphor, but yeah–it’s like THAT.

January 30, 2008

Collecting is an art form.
Oh yes, and a vocation…that I envy.
(dear open-air markets of London, The Continent and China, I miss you. xo -me)

Check out this little stream of posts about COLLECTORS on poppytalk.blogspot.com.

mmmhmmm…
tinyglobes.jpg
(copyright Lisa Congdon)
tinyphotographs.jpg
(copyright Lisa Congdon, http://www.lisacongdon.com/)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. A-man-duh permalink
    January 30, 2008 12:41 pm

    Amen!
    It is a drug that I most admire and abhor! I LOVE LOVE LOVE vintage and antique stores and you’re right about those open air markets in London Yikes/Awesome….I don’t know what it is about owning something someone else owned a bagillion years ago but I feel compelled to do it and drawn to it like an itch.

    ie: an old bird cage

    I literally had withdrawl-like symptoms walking away without it and a small high when i finally made the purchase.

    and yet it’s not like that with alllll shopping….just things i know i’ll maybe never see again.

    If grad school doesn’t pan out….we should open a high end thrift store….but not in Fredericksburg….too much competition there 🙂

    -amanda

  2. January 30, 2008 7:52 pm

    Yaayyy poppytalk!

    Love that site.

    And ditto on vintage/thrift/open-air markets… la-la-la!!

    It’s totally like a drug addiction.

  3. Charles permalink
    January 31, 2008 10:33 am

    Yep. For me it’s books. I’ve been collecting for years, and have shelves and shelves. Last time in London I picked up a 19th century book of Thomas Hood’s poetry and a couple of history books from the same period. I spent a lot of time wandering the book shops on Charing Cross.

Leave a Reply

